top of page

Rae's Rules to Remember #1: Know When to Walk Away

When I was still in uni I felt burned out, exhausted and under appreciated very often.

I started to have this overwhelming feeling that a lot of the things that I do go unnoticed. I’m not the kind of person that does things to gain attention, but I started to feel that I was constantly giving everything I had and it was all for nothing.

I was a very involved student leader on campus and there was one organization in particular that I had worked extremely hard to keep active. I worked my ass off for three years keeping this organization afloat. As an outgoing senior I trained the new executive board in every way possible to ensure that they could stay up and running once I graduated.

Despite all of that work, I still had exec members coming to me and asking questions that I had already given them the answers to. This made me think that all of the time I spent teaching them how to run the organization was a waste. I had never had to deal with such laziness and lack of commitment before. It made me want to give up. Why should I keep giving 100% when (almost) everyone else only gave 10?

I very heavily considered resigning. It was my senior year, I felt that I had much more important things to worry about and I was tired.

I'm not sure why, but I stayed until my term was over. Looking back, I should have left. I wasted a lot of time in that organization and it was causing me unnecessary stress. I guess I have an issue with finishing what I start, but if I had the chance to do it all over again...I would leave.


Currently Reading
bottom of page