top of page

Book Review: Pandemonium (Delirium #2)

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Synopsis:

In this electrifying follow-up to Delirium, Lena is on a dangerous course that takes her through the unregulated Wilds and into the heart of a growing resistance movement. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

~SPOILER ALERT~

This one was definitely more interesting than the first (thank goodness).

I guess I like Lena a little better this time around. I appreciate that she isn't so naive anymore but I found it odd that it took her so long to figure out that Tack had hidden something in the umbrella. Even though they did try to aid her, she had every right to be pissed at Raven for not warning her that she would get kidnapped.

I do like Julian. He kind of started off naive like Lena but he also had to be extremely careful since his brother was killed. It will be interesting to see what role he plays in the finale.

I was really hoping that this wouldn't turn into a love triangle situation, but of course Julian survives and Alex returns. Way to end on a cliff hanger though, now I really want to know what happens and who she will choose (if she chooses).

I was surprised to find out that the Scavengers are getting paid off by the DFA. But it's expected for the government in a dystopia to be corrupt so it fits.

I had a slight feeling that the woman who saved Lena was her mother but I'm surprised that she didn't say anything and then left. Obviously, they'll be reunited at some point but I wonder why she left without telling her the truth.

I really hope that Hana shows up again in the next one. After all, Lena still doesn't know that it was her who betrayed her and Alex. I also wonder about the rest of Lena's family...mainly Grace.

Another thing that I really liked about this book was the time jump. I like the back and forth, "then and now" aspect. BUT I hated that once the flash backs were over, it was just one long chapter and it was freaking 80 pages long.

3.5 stars.


Currently Reading
bottom of page