top of page

Author Review | J.K. Rowling


Rereading Harry Potter has made me realize how brilliant this woman is. I mean, obviously I knew that before but I read the series when I was so young that I wasn’t really able to appreciate it.

Many authors are capable of creating an alternate world but she’s created a world within our world and made them coexist. She’s created a sport with international teams, an entire curriculum for a fictional school, spells, a government with various departments and policies, currency, fairy tales, and magical creatures. I mean, this woman can do it all.

The amount of detail and effort that is shown through Harry Potter is amazing to me because it’s so incredibly complex, yet it all comes together so nicely. In the entire series there was only one flaw and a small one although I’m not sure if it was a mistake or if she did it on purpose: In Goblet of Fire, because Harry and Voldemort have twin wands, when one overpowers the other if performs Prior Incantato. We know for a fact that James was killed before Lily but in the graveyard, she appears last. Other than that, the whole damn thing is flawless.

Not only is the story itself great, but her writing is impeccable. The descriptions of surroundings, the depth of the characters and the way events unfold. I highly doubt that I could ever be bored while reading something that she has written.

I honestly don’t even think that another author would be able to create a story that so many people will forever remember and always want to be a part of. Harry is loved world wide by young and old and will probably continue to be for generations to come.

Rowling gets 5 stars.


Currently Reading
bottom of page