top of page

Book Review: Requiem (Delirium #3)

Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Synopsis:

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels. As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena's and Hana's points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

~SPOILER ALERT~

First and foremost, I love the dual perspective and how we get stories from both sides of the border.

Random thought: Who the hell made golf the national sport of all things?!

The whole "Lena and Alex aren't talking to each other" thing was really freaking stupid. I can understand that Alex may have been hurt when he saw Lena with Julian, but let's be reasonable. She watched him get shot and captured by regulators, even he didn't think that he would survive - let alone escape. Can he really be mad at her for moving on? And then telling her that he never loved her just spiteful.

It really annoyed me that Hana got pulled out of college to get married. Especially since I didn't expect the whole thing with Fred and how he sent his own father to his death and was an abusive psychopath who killed cats for fun as a child.

I felt so bad for Gracie. I was also surprised that her family abandoned her. She's a child. At least Hana found her and was able to give her food.

Another unexpected twist was Lu being a traitor. I guess it just didn't occur to me that regulators would have people on the inside just like the resistance. Nice move.

I am so pissed that Raven died. I really don't think that Tack knew about the baby and that kind of makes me feel worse about it.

When Cassie told Hana that Fred had intentionally worked with Invalids to prove a point, I thought that he was working with them and planned to kill Hana with the bomb. I'm glad that it didn't turn out that way and that Hana got to leave him for dead.

For the most part I really liked this book, but I was very unsatisfied with the ending. I wish that there had been an epilogue because I still have unanswered questions:

  • What happened to Tack and how is he coping with Raven's death?

  • What happens to Hana? Will she reunite with Lena again?

  • Where are Hana's parents?

  • Will everyone just assume that she died in the explosion with Fred?

  • What will Grace and Annabel's meeting be like?

  • How did Julian take the news of Lena and Alex getting back together?

  • So they break down the wall and then what?

  • What's happening in the rest of the country?

At the end of a series, I feel like I shouldn't have so many questions.

3.2 stars


Currently Reading
bottom of page