top of page

Book Review: Maybe Someday (Maybe #1)

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Synopsis:

Sydney is living in an idyllic bubble—she's a dedicated student with a steady job on the side. She lives with her best friend, has a great boyfriend, and the music coming from the balcony opposite hers is fast becoming the soundtrack to her life. But when Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her, the bubble bursts. The mysterious and attractive man behind the music, Ridge, gives Sydney hope that she can move on and they begin to write songs together. But moving on is harder than she expects, Sydney can only hope…. Maybe someday…

~SPOILER ALERT~

This is only my second Colleen Hoover novel and I was not a fan of the first one (Ugly Love). This one was so much better.

This is the first book that I ever read with a deaf character. It seems as if she did it well for the most part, but I don't really have anyone to talk to that could confirm or deny whether it was good representation. If anyone would like to enlighten me on that, please do.

While I hope that her representation of Ridge and Maggie were accurate, I did have a couple of issues with the book. First, she makes a lot of insensitive trans "jokes". She also slut shames the hell out of Tori. Lastly, she gives in to the "guys only cares about sex and are fully expected to have wandering eyes" stereotype. The combination of all of those things, unfortunately caused me to lower what my initial rating of the book could have been.

As for the actual story, I'm not so sure I like Sydney. She overreacts to finding out about Maggie, she constantly calls Tori a whore,and she refers to Maggie as "the girl who planted herself between her and her 'maybe someday' " as if she didn't fuck up someone else's relationship. I get that she went through some tough shit but she whines too much.

I liked Ridge until he cheated on Maggie.

Maggie is probably my favorite character honestly. She's the kind of girl that I could be friends with in real life.

While I think that Warren is a complete asshole. He's a good friend and I really like that about him.

Overall, the book was much better than I expected it to be. I also kind of appreciate that it was a happy and somewhat realistic ending.

3.5 stars.


Currently Reading
bottom of page